Friends

I remember once I was home from university, my school friends and I were passing the time the best way we know how: Music channels on the TV, talking over it all day.

Back then, I did not have the infuriating and essential smart phone I have today. I could go a whole week without charging that phone! My friends were impressed by this, but then I added that this was probably because I did not really text or ring anyone and they did not really text or ring me.

My friends thought this was hilarious and decided that we should write a TV program about our underwhelming social life. I think it was decided it would be like “Everybody Hates Chris” where something disappointing would happen at the end of every episode. The development did not progress much further than that, which is a shame because I think we had a hit on our hands.

Most of my favourite moments with friends are random conversations like this where we lightly mock each other. Whenever I see my closest friends now I feel shamelessly warm and fuzzy. Thanks to all of us growing up and moving to strange parts of the country we do not see each other as often as we would like, but it is always good to see them.

Unfortunately I can already feel like I am growing apart from some friends I used to be close to. That is life I suppose. However, there are quite a few friends I have managed to stay in contact with and we try to see each other when we can. Sometimes one or both of us is busy and we don’t get to see each other for a while, just exchange a few messages here and there to make sure we are both alive.

When we do manage to see each other it is like no time passed at all. We pick up right where we left off. I think that is a sign that you have a long term friend on your hands. It doesn’t matter if you live far away or if you don’t see them for years, when you’re together you still know how to be friends.

Leave a Reply

