No more interviews please!

I mentioned last week that I had an interview that went well. It went so well I even thought during the interview this is going well, I could actually get this job! I also thought that even if I did not get the job I would feel alright because I’d tried my best!

I did not get it. And I did not feel great afterwards, not so much because I did not get that particular job, but because I have applied for so many jobs and been to so many interviews. I think I have got pretty good at them now, but I still don’t get the job. This has happened for a number of reasons:

  • I don’t have enough technical knowledge
  • I don’t know (or really care) enough about the industry
  • They ask weird questions that throw me and ruin the interview
  • They want someone with more direction (a 23 year old with direction? Really?!)

This latest one, there was simply someone they wanted more than me, competition was fierce, it was a hard decision said they.

Fair enough I suppose, I should feel happy that at least the interview did actually go as well I thought it did. I’ll get there, but right now I am still frustrated that there was someone whose interview went better than mine!

So I did wallow for a bit in how tired I was about looking for jobs, something I am sure a lot of people have experienced. I think it is okay to feel like that every now and then, as long as you don’t give up completely. So then I made myself apply for another job and look for some more.

Then I saw a job teaching kids English in Spain and toyed with the idea of applying for it because I just wanted to get away. I decided that maybe moving to Spain might not solve all my problems (I do still have the application form saved on my computer though, in case I decide that maybe it will).

Then I made chocolate and hazelnut oat cookies, because why not?

Chocolate heals all.
Chocolate heals all.

Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.” – Thomas Edison

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

