A Pleasant Surprise

I recently read The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath and while I knew it was meant to be good, I enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

Knowing what I knew about the author, I was worried that it would be a bit depressing.  While it is quite a sad and intense book, by the end I thought it had more of a hopeful feeling.


I thought that some parts were actually quite funny.

witty2 PhotoGrid_1435595669992IMG_20150711_114136
I also found some of her thoughts to be very relatable. Feeling inadequate after a life of solely academic achievements and feeling the whole of your life stretching in front of you with endless, overwhelming possibilities is something I can definitely relate to right now!

PhotoGrid_1436261072035

PhotoGrid_1436261149665

I really liked this book, so it is tragic that this turned out to be her only novel.  If she had written more I would definitely be searching for them right now. I do not read a lot of poetry, but I plan on reading some of hers.

I’d give it: 5/5

IMG_20150711_113414

1 thought on “A Pleasant Surprise”

Leave a Reply

