Hello Again!

This month I am giving Blogging 101 a go. It is a course held by the people at WordPress in which participants work through tasks that can help them advance their blogs. It is free and sounds pretty fun, so I thought why not?

Today’s task is to introduce yourself to the world.

Well, greetings! I’m Laura, I’m 23 and last summer I graduated from university with a Masters in Physics with Astronomy and no idea what to do with it (I don’t tend to think too far ahead, I picked it because I thought space was cool and I was good at Maths).

I found being dragged into the real world a bit of a struggle because I had such fond memories of university. It had been a lot of fun and I loved being surrounded by so many people with similar interests.

In March I decided to start my blog, because, well, I was sure that I could not be the only one who was a bit freaked out by adult life. I thought I’d record the experience and read other people’s experiences too. Maybe it would help get some perspective.

Misery loves company, basically.

I am very glad that I started my little blog, and I am very keen to see how it progresses as I (hopefully) get better at it.

Being a grown up feels a bit less scary too.

image

12 thoughts on “Hello Again!”

  1. I’ve got a friend a bit like you- she’s applying to do maths at Cambridge, but when people ask her what she’s going to do when she’s out of uni, she draws a blank. Sorry if you’ve already mentioned it, but what do you do? Is your job as gratifying for you as university was? Thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh wow well I am sure she won’t have trouble impressing employers with a Maths degree from Cambridge. She has time to figure it out!

      Right now I am working in a college library. It is rewarding but I would like something a bit more challenging eventually. It is good to get some experience though 🙂

      Like

  2. I did exactly this not too long ago, but things seem to have fallen in place nicely 🙂 I’m hope they do for you to, so you can look back at this post a few years later and smile 🙂

    Like

    1. Good to hear that everything fell into place! Thank you 🙂 Yeah I think it will be great to be able to look back on this blog in a few years time.

      Like

  3. I can relate so much to this post simply because I’m still trying to figure myself out. I’m 27 and still don’t know what to do with my life. I’m happyspaces like your exists on the internet though because I find inspiration through others, and yes, “misery (sure does) love company.” I find myself saying that quite a bit these days. I hope that you find your “way” soon, even though those paths are ever evolving.

    Like

    1. I think I am starting to realise that it takes quite a while for people to figure things out, and there’s nothing wrong with that! It is helpful to read about other people’s experiences.

      Thank you, I hope you do too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you and thank you for the follow as well. Not too long ago I read something that made me feel better about my lack in direction, “there’s nothing worse than thinking you should have it all figured out by your 20s,” or something like that. Obviously there ARE worse things, but you get the point. 🙂

        Like

  4. I think the 20s are a period of discovery and transformation. Let that be like that. Everyone I know who has turned 30 says that their 30s are better than their 20s. I think it is part of figuring out who you are and being comfortable in your own skin. Just know things get better and better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am starting to realise that, a lot of my friends are still figuring things out as well. It was scary at the beginning but now I am quite excited about what could happen. That is very good to know! Thank you for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I found this a sweet and inspiring blog. You are certainly not alone in your thinking. It’s all part of the experiences of life and what shapes us. I am in my 40’s now and I still wonder what I am going to do when I grow up! A wise person once told me that the right thing will not pass you by. And I have adopted that motto to my life. We transistion as people more than once or twice in life, so don’t let it worry you too much. Life is for living.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes life after full time education is a lot different to what I imagined it but it has also been a time where I have learnt alot. Especially that deciding what you want does not happen all at once! Life is definitely for living and experiencing as much as possible. Thank you for your comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

