My Life According to TV Shows

When I was growing up I watched a lot of the TV show Friends. I had assumed that this was an accurate portrayal of adult life. I would end up living near my closest friends and we would always hang out at the same coffee shop where a table was always inexplicably reserved just for us.

This has not happened. If anything, as we get older my friends and I are becoming more spread out. I do not see us all springing back to the same town any time soon.

This week I saw my 3 oldest friends (from all the way back in Primary School!). While I had seen them all separately and in different combinations of two, this was the first time the four of us were all in the same place at the same time in about two years.

Getting together made us all wish that we did live in the same town and could meet up like that much more often.

A lot has changed. Three of us are in serious relationships, we have all graduated from university and we do not get asked for ID when we buy drinks nearly as often. Having realised that our twenties will be nothing like Friends, we hope that our thirties will be like Sex and the City. (We have the fancy drinks sorted but we still have a long way to go.)

Instagram-worthy iced chamomile and green tea with mango from Giraffe #yum

A post shared by Laura (@loucille1) on

Despite everything that has changed, it is still easy to talk to each other and we always have a great time together.

I guess that means we might be stuck with each other for life, which is nice.

Leave a Reply

