All Moved Out

I am now officially moved out of my mums house.

Despite moving away for university and then moving into the flat with R, I still had a lot of junk at my mums.  It was an arrangement I was quite happy with.

Then Mum decided to downsize and sell her house, meaning I had to clear out my childhood bedroom.  All of my possessions are now in the flat.

There is not enough room for all of it.

I envy those who can live a clutter-free existence and are not weighed down by loads of useless possessions that are being kept purely for sentimental reasons.  I am a sucker for an old cinema ticket, school book or birthday card.

I don't strictly need this pig with wings but it was a Christmas present from a university friend. it is meant to remind me that anything is possible. How can I get rid of that?!
I don’t strictly need this pig with wings.   But then it was a Christmas present from a university friend. it is meant to remind me that anything is possible. How can I get rid of that?!
I built this orbiter of the Eartth, Moon and Sun with my bare hands. And then it did not work when I turned it on. It is still nice to look at though, when we live in a bigger place I feel like it will be a nice ornament.
I built this orbiter of the Earth, Moon and Sun with my bare hands (and a screwdriver). Then it did not work when I turned it on. It is still nice to look at though, when we live in a bigger place I feel like it will be a nice ornament.

But I am getting better. I have tried to de-clutter a lot this year, because despite his tolerance for my hoarding tendencies and messiness, R is very tidy and does not have as much junk as me.  I feel like most of the stuff taking up our flat is my rubbish.

Whenever I am trying to de-clutter I make myself think of Holly Golightly from Breakfast at Tiffanys, who’s flat had a fly by night look and she was not a girl who could keep anything, to remind me that it is fine to throw/give things away.

Even if they remind me of a simpler time, or it was from the day something amazing happened, I would probably not miss a lot of my sentimental junk if it suddenly disappeared. I have never thought where is that cinema ticket from the day we saw Hannah Montana because so-and-so was late to the cinema and it was the only thing we could watch?!  I can remember it happening, and that’s enough.

So I am getting there, hopefully soon this flat will be an uncluttered and tidy place… maybe.  If anyone knows of any other characters to motivate my de-cluttering do let my know!

5 thoughts on “All Moved Out

Add yours

  1. I know the feeling. When I was little, I had a box of ‘treasures’- things I thought were particularly cool. When I found that my mum found it last week and promptly chucked away the bubble wrap, balloon fragments and chocolate coin wrappers, I was really upset, even though it was a heap of junk and I actually don’t miss it at all. (Also I love the orbiter you made, it’s soooooo preeeeeeettty!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! Haha, that’s exactly it. It’s hard to get rid of things but then once they’re gone I barely think of them! Thanks, I quite like it. Just need to find somewhere to put it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

