In the Absence of Time Travel

Lately I have been feeling like I have no TIME. I want to work in a job I like, post on my blog a few times a week, have a social life, keep learning French, read loads of books, keep up with current issues and exercise (well, I don’t want to exercise, but I feel like I should).

I just find myself wondering where the time will come from.

This is ridiculous. I do not have anyone depending on me, I do not have a job that requires crazy long hours and my commute is only an hour.

My French practise is slipping and if I carry on at my current rate the book I am reading will get finished around November.

image

I know what my real problem is: organisation.

Organisation is something I have only ever been good at when it comes to working or studying, or organising when to go drinking with friends (everyone has priorities). But I think I am going to have to get a bit more organised with my hobbies.

Rather than collapsing on the sofa on front of the TV when I get in, I should schedule some French learning time, or read the news.

Maybe I should join a book club, or an exercise class. I need to make the most of my free time, because I probably have more of it than I think I do. One day when I have more responsibility I’ll look back and wonder what I was doing with all that unfilled time!

I decided to write a plan of how to spend my time, to avoid just wasting time looking at unnecessary things on the internet. After I was done I realised that maybe I do have plenty of time, and I should stop complaining.

Preliminary Plan:
Train to work – read.

On bus – write some blog stuff

Lunch hour – Post/edit/schedule something on blog

Maybe join the gym at work and WORKOUT every other day for a bit before heading home

Bus and train back – read

Home

After dinner – Practise French

Read news

Check emails properly (they’re getting a bit out of hand)

Of course, this will probably be interspersed with me occasionally checking twitter and instagram. I’m only human.

image

5 thoughts on “In the Absence of Time Travel

Add yours

  1. Story of my life! My priorities are constantly changing (with some constants of course), but it’s a never ending learn of balance.
    Your preliminary plan sounds efficient. I’m rooting for you. Good luck! Looking forward to seeing how your plan unfolds and/or evolves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Or you could get yourself a Time Turner, it could be worn as a pendant, no-one needs to know….. πŸ™‚ .

    But I totally see what you mean, happens to me all the time and I keep trying to figure out ways to cope πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

