Why do I write?

As I enjoyed Blogging 101 so much, I thought I would give Writing 101 a go. It is Blogging U’s way to help build a habit of writing everyday with the help of prompts. Today’s prompt is ‘I write because…’

I write because, well, I enjoy it. I have always written in some form or another. When I was younger I would write stories that only slightly ripped off all the childrens books I devoured, when I was a teenager I wrote my crazy teenage thoughts in a diary, and now I am writing this blog. I quite like the blog because it forces me to read back what I write and find ways to make it something someone might want to read, rather than just shutting it away to be read years later and think how crazy was I?!

I write because it helps to make sense of what I am thinking, because sometimes I do not even know! I am an indecisive person and still do not know what I want to be when I grow up. Maybe writing will help me notice what it is I enjoy and work out where I should go.

I like sharing my writing on this blog because I just write the kind of things I would like to read. When I graduated from university I found it hard not knowing what I wanted to do and I felt a lot of pressure, having done a degree that many people find ‘impressive’. So I write to help me realise that there is so much more to life than career and to show other people who may also be struggling to decide what path to go down that they are not alone.

I write because it is great fun trying to turn my experience into something readable and try to find the funny side of things. It helps me notice things more because I am always on the lookout for something interesting to write about.

Writing is a great way of sharing experience and reading is a great way to discover that actually, a lot of people go through the same things. I love having writing as a hobby and I hope this Writing 101 helps me to develop it even more.

image

4 thoughts on “Why do I write?

Add yours

  1. “I write because it is great fun trying to turn my experience into something readable and try to find the funny side of things. It helps me notice things more because I am always on the lookout for something interesting to write about.” This is exactly how I feel! Looking forward to your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I write because it helps to make sense of what I am thinking.” I totally agree Laura! Some things just make more SENSE when they’re written down. It helps with all the jumbled thoughts! I also like having a place to look back at my journey and stuff…even if it is a little embarrassing at times. Ha. Oh well 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes they really do! It is amazing how things can seem so much clearer once I have written about it. Haha yeah when I read my old diaries I usually enjoy it but sometimes I just really hope that no one else ever reads them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

