Sunday Quote #4

I think that if I won the lottery, I would spend a lot of money on just doing loads of different degrees.  After doing the obvious things like buying a nice house, going on holiday and giving some winnings away to deserving people, of course.

I don’t think my winnings would last very long.

I love learning new things.  I want to study everything.  I chose to study Physics with Astronomy because well, it is how the universe formed and how it might end up.  I thought it would be a good place to start.  After four years of learning about it I still do not even feel that knowledgeable about the subject.  Imagine feeling like that after four years! My knowledge of the things I have not studied for several years must barely scratch the surface!

Harry Potter is probably the only thing where I know most of what there is to know about it. I have been a Harry Potter geek since I was about 8 and I still get surprised by random facts sometimes.  I know absolutely nothing in the grand scheme of things.

I would love to be really knowledgeable about loads of things, but no matter how much I studied, there would still be so much I was ignorant of.

That doesn’t mean learning new things is pointless, of course.  It is just means that while I may be an expert at one thing, there will be a million other things I know nothing about.  I still want to keep learning though.

  • I want to learn another language,
  • I want to learn how to cook,
  • I want to learn about the history of the world,
  • I want to learn about Biology,
  • I want to learn about Philosophy and Art
  • I want to learn about things I do not even know I don’t know about yet!

My brain is greedy, it spent four years learning about how the universe works but realised at the end of it all that there is still so much more to learn.  Not only in terms of what scientists still do not know about the universe but about other things as well. I know such a small fraction it is unbelievable.

I am trying to learn as much as I can in a way that does not land me in more student debt, desperately waiting on that lottery win.  I downloaded Duolingo on my phone so I can learn languages on the go. I work at a library in a college with a wide, wide range of books that I try my best to take advantage of.  I read different genres of books, from classic literature to young adult fiction.  I am trying to watch more documentaries and TED Talks.

It is not only possible to learn just one new thing everyday, but several. There is an overwhelming amount of information out there. Even if I learnt things in an unbelievably efficient way it still would barely scratch the surface, and that is both incredibly exciting and exhausting to think about.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

