The Small Stuff

‘Reality is a question of perspective, the further you get from the past, the more concrete and plausible it seems – but as you approach the present, it inevitably seems more and more incredible.  Suppose yourself in a large cinema, sitting first at the back row, and gradually moving up, row by row, until your nose is almost pressed against the screen.  Gradually the stars’ faces dissolve into dancing grain; tiny details assume grotesque proportions; the illusion dissolves – or rather, it becomes clear that the illusion itself is reality.’

Salman Rushdie, Midnight’s Children

I have briefly mentioned before how slowly I am reading Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie.  My slow reading speed is no fault of the book, the book is fantastic and witty and weird and wonderful.  I am just struggling to find time to read it. Progress is being made though! The other day I read the above passage and thought was pretty awesome.

What I take from it is that when you are going through life, little things can seem much bigger and more important than they really are in the grand scheme of things.  All of those little bits just help make up the ‘illusion’ of what you remember when you look back on an experience.  I hope that makes sense, I haven’t studied English Literature since I was 16 so often find it hard to explain what it is I like about my favourite passages of books!

It does remind me not to worry too much, to think to myself in ten years time, is this really going to matter? Am I going to remember it?

It can be very easy to stress about the small details, but when I think about the past few years, things do seem to fit together and seem perfectly ‘plausible’.  Even things that seemed terribly unfair at the time each taught me something.  I do not think that everything happens for a reason, because a lot of life seems pretty random.  But if I try to find something to learn from each experience, then looking back, things might seem like they fit together a lot more.

Leave a Reply

