Sunday Quote #5

sundayquote5

Yes, it is a quote about Harry Potter.  R and I went to the Making of Harry Potter Studio Tour to see the newly added Hogwarts Express (as well as the rest of the tour) and watch a screening of the first film.

I think the tour is a great experience, and really shows you just how much work went into making the films.

It was definitely worth going again to catch the Hogwarts Express.  I loved how it was set out and how you approach it, it made me the maximum amount excited when I finally did walk round the corner and see it.  Plus you can go inside it and they have set out certain carriages like they are at key points in the films.

There is something about the Hogwarts Express that is terribly exciting, because it is what took Harry off to his magical new life. I think it is a great addition to the tour.

9and3quarters

After the tour, we headed back to the foyer and picked up our complimentary movie snacks (popcorn or sweets!) and headed to the screening.  We were watching the first film, I think they are doing screenings of the films everyday this week as part of their ‘back to school’ theme.

IMG_20150919_163209_BURST008

I think I was expecting the crowd to be slightly more enthusiastic. I felt like I was chuckling along to a lot more than other people and my attempt to start a round of applause at the end was pretty unsuccessful (I love starting a round of clapping).

But it was great to see the first film again on the big screen. It is the one I find the most fun to rewatch, there’s the Dursleys being hilarious, Hagrid constantly saying I shouldn’ta said that and it is the one I watched over and over again when I first got it on video, so I have most of the script in my head.

I cannot believe that film will be 15 years old next year.  I remember my equally Harry Potter obsessed friend and I going to see Spy Kids at the cinema when we were about 8 and seeing a trailer for Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.  This was before we had the internet, before you could watch film trailers the second they came out on Youtube.  Can you imagine how exciting it must have been to see that trailer?!

It must have blown our young minds.  Needless to say, we weren’t talking about Spy Kids when we left the cinema, we were talking about the Harry Potter trailer.

I feel pretty fortunate to be at about the right age to have grown up with Harry Potter. I read the first book when I was about 7 or 8 and the last book came out when I was 15.

Gets me every time.
Gets me every time.

The friend I saw the trailer for the first film with was the same friend I watched the last film with at a midnight showing.  It is a series that will always mean something to me, because it is so much more than just some books and films.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

