If We Were Having Coffee

If we were having coffee, I would probably arrive first.  I have a habit of arriving unfashionably early to things.  I think it is the fact that I use a lot of public transport, I always have to plan for delays! I also get excited if I am meeting a friend I need to catch up with so I will probably be already eagerly sitting there when you arrive.

If we were having coffee, I’d order a latte and probably moan about the names for the sizes if we were in Starbucks.  Vente? Grande? I’ll have a medium latte please.

wpid-wp-1442775685287.jpeg

If we were having coffee, I would tell you how I was enjoying my new job, but how I know I cannot stay in it forever.  I am appreciative of the experience it will give me, but I know that there won’t be much opportunity for progression.  I know that is a job for now and I will eventually have to start that bloody job hunt again at some point.  Not for a little while yet though.

If we were having coffee, I would ask you how you were doing, trying to remember what things you mentioned last time we spoke.  I used to have a fantastic memory for the random facts people told me about themselves, to the point where I would pretend to forget them so I did not seem like a stalker.  I also used to be fantastic with names.  As life has gotten a bit busier, this skill has lapsed a bit, but I would try my best to ask about specific things I knew were going on.

If we were having coffee, I would marvel at how much has happened and changed over the last few years.  I would groan about missing university, only remembering giggling at the back of lecture halls, learning a really interesting subject, making colourful notes and fun parties that lead to hilarious stories.  I would conveniently forget days spent shut up in my room trying to understand weird maths or computer code, having no money or untidy student houses!  I would think out loud about how being in my 20s is nothing like how I imagined it and what a weird time it is, but how I will probably learn a whole lot about life during this time.

I we were having coffee, I bet I would enjoy it and it would seem like it was over much too soon.  We should do this more often!

9 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee”

Leave a Reply

