Sunday Quote #7

Okay, I have been reading Midnight’s Children for almost 3 months now. At time of writing I have less than 100 pages left.  It has been quite a ride.  It is safe to say that I have never read another book like it and I will look into reading more of Rushdie’s books.  He writes in a very beautiful way that I would like to read more of.

I feel like I some of it is going over my head, what with me not knowing much about India’s history and not having studied English Literature since I was 16, but I can still appreciate it in my own way.

The other day I read a part that made me stop and think.

‘I no longer want to be anything except what who I am. Who what am I? My answer: I am the sum total of everything that went before me, of all I have been seen done, of everything done-to-me.  I am everyone everything whose being-in-the-world affected was affected by mine. I am everything that happens after I’ve gone which would not have happened if I had not come… I repeat for the last time: to understand me, you’ll have to swallow a world.’

It’s so good! It reminded me a little bit of the essay at the end of Looking for Alaska.  I read that book a while ago and a friend currently has my copy so it might be completely random that this is the book my mind jumped to.

Either way, I liked the way that it reminds me about the bigger picture.  That people are so complicated and complex and there are so many things that contribute to where their lives go and how they affect others. There is often so much more to people than we initially think.

1 thought on “Sunday Quote #7”

Leave a Reply

