Winter Blues

I have recently realised that this is the first time in my life where I am genuinely leaving and returning home in the dark for most days of the week, while spending most of the time in between indoors.  During the winter at school or university sometimes I would leave the house at around 8 and it would still be a bit dark, but the Sun was usually at least trying to make an appearance.

Leaving at half 6 seems so much darker, and I leave work to wait for my perpetually late bus well after sunset.

I think it is actually getting me down! On Friday I got home from work after a late bus and getting caught in a rainshower and all I wanted to do was curl up in a ball and hibernate until I could get some sunshine.

It is pretty hard to put your finger on just generally feeling a bit tired and lethargic most of the time.  Maybe I just need more sleep, or to eat more greens! But I do not remember feeling this tired when I started my job in the summer, so I googled it, as I do with most things.

It is an actual thing, sometimes if you do not get enough light your body produces too much sleep hormone and you walk around feeling a bit tired and down.

 So maybe I will just have to make myself go off for a walk during my lunch hour, not if it is raining though! And maybe I should try and get close with a window now and again and remind my body that look! The Sun is out! No need to be so sleepy.

IMG_20151129_123841
I have also been buying a lot more flowers

I also downloaded the app Headspace, which is for meditation, I thought it might be a good way to alleviate a bit of that grumpiness that comes with feeling so tired and to feel a bit calmer about it all.  Only the first 10 sessions are free so I am going to have to make a decision about whether to actually subscribe but right now I am leaning towards giving it a try.  It is cheaper than Spotify Premium!

Hopefully this plus an attempt at some sunny walks will help me feel a bit better and wake me up. If not, well, only 3 weeks until the days start getting longer again!

Does anyone else out there have ways they cope with the Winter Blues?

8 thoughts on “Winter Blues”

    1. Thanks for the suggestion, I think you are right! Reading and writing are definitely good ways to relax, but also can wake up the brain too 🙂 I will try harder to make time for both things.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I also downloaded Headspace but I haven’t tried it out yet. I don’t think I’m affected by all the darkness…except for the fact that I get up at 6:30 to go for my walk instead of 6 am when the sun was starting to peek out…

    Like

    1. I like it so far, I reckon if I actually stick with it it would be worth the money! It is good that you have the motivation to get up that early for a walk! Apparently sunrise was at 0758 this morning and sunset is at 1558! Definitely looking forward to the days getting longer.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] I briefly mentioned before that I downloaded Headspace (a meditation app) and was debating whether to pay for a subscription once I was done with the free content on there. I decided to go for it, because I am curious to see whether it does make me more mindful and engaged with what is going on around me. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

