My 5 Favourite Things About Christmas

StephJ at Scalesimple invited me to take part in her 12 days of Christmas blogging challenge and I thought it would be a fun way of getting into the Christmas spirit.  Day one is listing my favourite things about Christmas, well…

1.THE FOOD

Obviously.  I love a roast dinner, but roast dinner with a bigger bird than usual?  That is just great.  Plus there is all sorts of deliciousness like stuffing and pigs in blankets and bread sauce and cranberry sauce.  That’s just the dinner! There is all sorts of treats to be had.  Not to mention the Advent calendar chocolate eaten on every day of December leading up to Christmas.  I usually come back after Christmas break with a bit of a more wobbly stomach than usual, but I just see that as motivation to stick to my New Year’s resolution of exercising more.

2. The Family

Christmas would not feel like Christmas if I was not surrounded by my family.  My mum usually cooks her own Christmas dinner on Christmas Eve and usually has a lot of cakes and biscuits and other things to gorge on.  Then on Christmas day we used to go to my grandparents, but now we got to my Aunt and Uncle’s house to save my nana the task of cooking everything.  I get to see my grandparents, mum, brother, cousins, aunt and uncle and we usually have a pretty jolly time.

3.The Films

Not just Christmas films, but just generally watching films almost constantly.  On Boxing Day my brother and I will probably be slouched on the sofa at our mums house, eating food and watching films.  It will be very good.

4. The Presents

This is not the most important part of the day, but it is usually nice to get presents and it is pretty nice giving them too.  Sitting in a room with a bunch of people giving each other things that they might enjoy is nice, it does not have to be commercial or materialistic.  I think it can be really lovely, provided there are no spoilt kids like Dudley Dursley there to ruin the fun.  Thankfully the youngest people at my Christmas day will be 21, so it will all be pretty chill.

5. The Decorations

Wreaths, Christmas trees, lights.  It all makes the winter seem a bit less dark and miserable and I am all for it, the more shiny and tasteless the better.


 

So that is a list of my favourite things about Christmas, what are yours?

Rules of the Christmas Challenge:

  • Include the photo below in each blog post
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively (lets face it it’s a busy time)
  • Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
  • Have fun!

christmas4
I nominate anyone who likes the look of the challenge to take part, show me a link to your post and I will be sure to check it out!

5 thoughts on “My 5 Favourite Things About Christmas”

Leave a Reply

