My Favourite Christmas Tradition

This one was difficult because there are quite a lot of Christmas traditions that I like.  Apart from being able to eat as much food as you want without feeling too guilty (is that a tradition?) something I really enjoy is crackers.

I do not know whether they are used in other parts of the world, but they are basically cardboard tubes all wrapped up in paper and you and another person grab an end each and pull them apart.  They bang and there is usually a toy, a bad joke and a colourful paper hat that everyone has to wear (although they rarely fit over my hair, every year I moan about how they should make them bigger!)

There is something quite fun about pulling crackers around the table, putting on the silly hat and reading the awful joke inside.  Plus, the toys usually provide a bit of entertainment as well.

The main reason why I like crackers so much is because of my grandad.  He makes his own. When I say makes, it is more: a few years ago he bought some cracker shaped tins and filled them with leftover jokes, toys, a piece of paper on it saying BANG and a couple of pounds if we were lucky. Once we have pulled them apart he enthusiastically says right, don’t lose anything and put them all back together when you’re done and we spend the next year forgetting what was in them until we groan at the same jokes next Christmas.

It is weird explaining it and getting across how funny my cousins, brother and I find it.  Every year, we ask where are Poppa’s homemade crackers?!  And reminisce about what was in them last year.

The reason this is probably my favourite tradition is because it feels so unique to my family.  Whenever somebody mentions crackers I always think of the strange homemade ones we get given every year.

Who else has a weird family tradition at Christmas?


 

Rules of the Christmas Challenge:

  • Include the photo below in each blog post
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively (lets face it it’s a busy time)
  • Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
  • Have fun!

christmas4

 

I nominate anyone who likes the look of the challenge to take part, show me a link to your post and I will be sure to check it out!

 

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Christmas Tradition”

  1. I’m not entirely sure we have any unique Christmas traditions. Well, aside from celebrating it a whole week early, essentially. Long story short, our friend’s kids are at their mothers on Christmas so we give them Christmas the week before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

