Becoming a Jedi

I briefly mentioned before that I downloaded Headspace (a meditation app) and was debating whether to pay for a subscription once I was done with the free content on there. I decided to go for it, because I am curious to see whether it does make me more mindful and engaged with what is going on around me.

I have always been a bit of a daydreamer. Whether it’s thinking about someone that I like or imagining myself somewhere cool like Hogwarts, my mind has a tendency to wander when it does not feel fully engaged.

Obviously, this is fine in moderation, and I do not do it nearly as much as I did when I was a teenager with not the most active social life.  But time spent daydreaming means less time spent in the real world, actually doing things and engaging with it.

Recently I feel like I have got a bit more confident but there are still times where I nervously over-think how I am supposed to act or what I am supposed to say and end up not really doing anything or not seeing the situation 100% clearly.

I thought that these were things that perhaps a bit of meditation could help, so I went for it and decided to spend the money on Headspace and see whether it helped me get a bit more focussed.

Right now, I do not feel like I have wasted my money.  I get up a little bit earlier every morning and do a 10 minute session.  I definitely feel pretty good and calm immediately after I finish a session and I have noticed a couple of changes already. When I talk to people I feel like I do not agonise quite so much about what I am going to say and exactly how I am going to say it.  When I read, I do feel like I am not so easily distracted.

It also reminds me to be mindful of my thoughts, which kind of makes me feel like a Jedi.  If I get a negative thought, I am far more likely to just ignore it rather than get carried away with it.

Screenshot_2015-12-21-22-13-48
Just like Yoda’s training

I mean, you don’t need an app on your smartphone to remind you to be more mindful about what is going on in your head.  But for someone like me who can be a bit rubbish at sticking to things if they do not fit easily into my routine, it has been a good way to get started. I think that if I stick with it I will definitely feel the benefit.

May the Force be with you.

Yes, I am excited about the new Star Wars film.

11 thoughts on “Becoming a Jedi”

  1. Sounds nice. I’m currently meditating 15-20 min and still increasing bit by bit.

    I just found an article about that, so I’m sharing it with those who also do read the comment section 😛 😀

    “One well-known study trained people in meditation for eight weeks. The participants, who were new to meditation, ended up meditating for an average of 23 minutes a day. At the end of eight weeks their brain activity had measurably changed, and they showed much higher activation of parts of the brain that are associated with feelings of well-being and less activation of parts of the brain associated with stress. And they were found to have an improved immune response as well. That’s after just 23 minutes a day, on average.”

    http://www.wildmind.org/mindfulness/four/how-long-should-i-meditate-each-day

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I had a hard time falling asleep last night and it wasn’t because I was thinking of anything but from the drinks I had at a party I went to. Alcohol made me stay up. :\

        Like

Leave a Reply

