My New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve already set out some blogging goals for this year, but I also have made some New Year’s resolutions!  I do find myself getting quite excited when a new year starts and what possibilities it could bring.  Plus, after being a bit sedentary and greedy at Christmas I usually feel like I want to get out there and be more active and awesome.  Hopefully these new resolutions will see to that.

1. Work my way up to jogging 5k
I generally want to exercise more this year.  I have gone from wanting to join the gym, carrying on with this exercise video I have a bit of an on/off relationship with,

or going jogging.  

I have opted for jogging and downloaded an app that has one of those couch to 5k programs on there that slowly works up to jogging a decent distance without me giving up after my first attempt because it is too difficult (the first day is just to walk/jog 1.5 miles, even I felt alright with doing that!)  I am hoping that having a clear goal like this will keep me motivated.  If not, maybe paying £18.99/month for the gym will make me get off my behind.

2. Book a driving lesson.
I have written a couple of times about my dependence on public transport. While I like it and probably have more patience with it than most, sometimes it is just better to drive somewhere yourself.  I am also reading On the Road by Jack Kerouac and that guy makes driving sound cool. I feel like driving could open the possibility for more adventures, so maybe it is time I learned.

3. Less time on the sofa.
When you work full time it can be all too easy to collapse on the sofa as soon as you get home and not really move.  While sometimes this is totally justified and necessary, I think that maybe I do it a bit too often.  I could be more active and productive with my evenings.  Going for a jog or a walk, going to a class, reading a book, meeting a friend, reading, blogging etc. could all be more rewarding ways to spend my time.

4. Leave my phone just out of reach.
My phone is usually within an arm’s length, which makes it very easy to grab and stare at whenever I want to without actually thinking about it.  I think that by just leaving it on the other side of the room, I will actually have to think about why I want to look at it and will hopefully stop picking it up quite so much.

5. Read more.
Books, blogs, news, magazines, anything that is worth reading.  I think I do read a fair amount, but I could definitely do more, especially in the evenings when it is just bit too easy to sit on front of the TV.


I feel like I have made myself sound a bit lazy in this post, and well, maybe. I just need to be more productive with my evenings and be more aware of how I am spending my time.

5 is a good number to be getting on with.  Don’t want to spread my motivation too thin! I’ll check back in a couple of months to see whether I need a bit of a kick, or whether I should set some more!

What are everyone else’s New Year’s Resolutions?

6 thoughts on “My New Year’s Resolutions

Add yours

  1. Going to do Nr. 4 too because I think using that phone too much is disconnecting us from another. Never ending conversations and the thinking of connecting with even if your not with them in person.. ^^

    I already started doing Nr. 5 well and for the rest got some work to do and keep the inner candle burning. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes being constantly connected to our phones can stop us paying attention to the people and things around us!

    I like that phrase, ‘keep the inner candle burning’!

    Like

  3. I don’t generally like making resolutions – because I make them grand and never complete them – but instead have opted to do challenges for myself. Exercise ten more minutes each day. Read a book outside of my comfort zone. Do yoga once a week. Small stuff. This season? Quit the caffeine. Again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean, I am hoping that I have not made mine too grand and I manage to stick to them. I have made more vague ones before and they have just ended up forgotten! Good luck with quitting the caffeine 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

