Weekly Wonders #9

I have not been terribly looking forward to going back to work this week. Work itself is fine, it’s more the getting up horribly early that’s making me groan. So maybe it would be good to think of some things to cheer me up when I am strutting off to the train station in the dark.

Totally normal pastimes for a 24 year old
For Christmas R got me a Harry Potter colouring book and a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle. This colouring book fad proves that you do not have to be a child to enjoy colouring in and it is not just old people that like puzzles, right?

hpcolouring.jpg

 

I actually find both activities pretty nice and calming, not to mention incredibly satisfying. Seeing some actual progress on that puzzle is bloody fantastic. Can I do it for a job?

IMG_20160105_130430.jpg
I want that jigsaw finished by close, Laura!

A sensible NYE
Usually R and I do not spend New Year’s Eve together, we spend it with our separate friends. Last year I went to a friends house party and spent the next day feeling a bit ill and wondering why playing Shot Roulette for hours seemed like a good idea. This year, both R and I failed to organise our friends into any acceptable plans. Spending it in the flat, just the two of us seemed like the least elaborate and stressful option. We watched Sharknado 2 and found a drinking game to go with it and then watched Jools Holland’s Hootenanny and had a little dance.

I was a little bit tipsy, but the next day? No hangover. As my hangovers now seem to have an ugly and extended edge these days, I am glad I did not have one on the first day of the year.

Screen Unseen
R and I both took Monday and Tuesday off this week so we could actually spend some time together after going back and forth between each others families for Christmas and then my birthday. On Monday we decided to go to the cinema, while I was looking at the screenings I discovered that the ODEON do this thing every month or so where they show a film that is not out yet, at a reduced price.  They just do not tell you what it is.

I got excited and enthusiastically told R I’d get the tickets, he told me to slow down. R had a look on the internet and saw that they release clues for what film they will be showing and R thought that it might be The Big Short. He was willing to watch that so we got the tickets.

It turned out to be The Revenant.

We both wanted to see it so we were pretty happy. It is an intense film, but it is fantastically shot and the scenery is beautiful. I definitely recommend it and I reckon Leo really deserves that Oscar, but maybe don’t watch it after a long day. It is not relaxing.

Enjoy Yourself
Jools played this song at the end of his Hootenanny and I kind of feel like I should listen to this song at least once a day for forever.

Enjoy yourself, it’s later than you think
Enjoy yourself, while you’re still in the pink
The years go by, as quickly as you wink
Enjoy yourself, enjoy yourself, it’s later than you think

3 thoughts on “Weekly Wonders #9”

Leave a Reply

