What I’ve been reading #2

This week I remembered why I had stopped writing little reviews/recaps of books I had read.  It’s because sometimes it takes me ages to read a book, and sometimes it takes me no time at all.  Midnight’s Children took three months, How to Build a Girl: less than a week! I also try not to read more than one book at once because I used to do that when I was younger and end up with about 5 on the go at one time and who has time for that?  This makes it hard to review books I have just read without it all seeming a bit random.

I thought the simple way to resolve this was just to reflect on books I had already read and think about what I liked about them.  Luckily, if I own the book, I am not above folding the pages over of the bits that like.  This makes it pretty easy to recap, apart from when R read my copy of Breakfast at Tiffany’s and unfolded the pages! What’s that about?! Needless to say, he was informed of why I fold over the pages and hopefully it won’t happen again!

Anyway, I felt like talking about Gone Girl because I was a bit obsessed with this book when I read it. I had to know what was going on and how it was all going to finish.  I was gripped in a way I rarely am with a book.  Back then I worked somewhere else and took two trains into work.  I would read Gone Girl on the first train until the last second, scurry across the station to my next train and resume reading as soon as I sat back down.  I was into it.

It was an experience, I had a lot of fun reading it and I thought that the characters were very interesting.  I should read more of her books because she writes in a way that is quite easy to read and that quite obviously can get me hooked!

IMG_20160110_163939

IMG_20160110_164329

IMG_20160110_164541.jpg

I will say that I found the ending a bit disappointing, but now that I think about it that may be because I just wanted to know more about what happened to the characters.  I remember turning over the last page and not quite believing that was the end. But I enjoyed reading it so much and getting carried away with it that I did not really mind.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

