Weekly Wonders #15

I am sure everyone has been saying this, but how is it already March?! I got my payslip on Friday and thought oh yeah, it’s the end of the month, when did that happen?!  Then I sang a little song because it was Payday.  Here are the other things that pleased me this week.

Deadpool
I did not really know much about Deadpool before I went to see the film other than it was kind of a superhero story for grown ups. So I expected the film to be rude and violent.  It was both of those things but it was also hilarious and pretty clever.  

I would definitely recommend it if you have a slightly immature sense of humour.  While it was good fun it was also a reminder of how great it is to keep a sense of humour even when things don’t quite go to plan, and that’s a nice thing to think about.

Training at Work
Where I work they like the staff to do a certain amount of training each year.  This week I signed up to a session giving a quick summary on mental health and how to help students at the college that might have mental health problems.  It was really interesting and a bit shocking to hear how many of the students are suffering with all kinds of mental health issues.  The support department at the college certainly have their hands full!  

Some of the statistics were quite surprising too, apparently 1 in 4 people will experience a mental health problem each year. That seems like a big portion of the population, so it is a shame that there is still a stigma attached to mental health issues and not everyone feels like they can talk about it.  It also reminded me that just because somebody seems healthy they could still be going through a lot of problems I might not necessarily know about, so it’s good to be mindful of how I respond to people.

100 Blog Posts!
My post on Monday was my 100th post on this blog! That’s cool! I started this blog nearly a year ago and I was a bit worried that I would run out of steam after a few posts and it would sit there all sad with only a handful of old posts.  But that did not happen! I am pleased with myself for sticking with it and I look forward to working more on my blog and writing the next 100 posts.

Ellie Goulding
When I heard Ellie Goulding first talk about this song, she said something along the lines of I just felt like I was writing all of my songs about boys and it was getting a bit boring, so I wanted to write a song about my best friend instead.  Good move Goulding, good move.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

