Well That Was Unexpected

I went to see my cousin at the weekend because she works in a pub and never has a free Friday night, but she did last week! So I moseyed on down to my home town and went out drinking with her and a couple of her friends.

Another reason I wanted to see her is because she is being exciting and going off travelling for 17 MONTHS this summer, this is the longest I have gone without seeing her ever (she’s only 11 months younger than me!).

Now, my family is not particularly sappy or talks about emotions much, but they always seem to be there. We’re always around. For occasions like birthdays and holidays we will gather and hang around for a bit, and it’s nice. So it is weird that there is suddenly this prospect of one of us not being around for a while and emotions coming into play.

When I said goodbye to her on Friday, I knew that I would see her again before she went on her travels, but when I gave her a hug I got this rush of holy crap, I’m really going to miss her!

So in a couple of months time when she has her big going-away gathering, I don’t think I will be the cool, calm and collected cucumber I’d assumed I’d be. I will probably be a blubbering huggy mess that my cousin will be slight scared of and keen to get away from.

It is strange that I didn’t realise how much I actually liked having my cousin in the same country as me. It made me realise that there are a lot of people in my life that I would miss if they went away for an extended period of time, and that is quite a nice thought.

It also means that if any of them move anywhere exotic permanently I am definitely going for a visit, and there’s nothing they can do about it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

