What I’ve been reading #6

A few weeks ago I wrote a post admiring my local library like the cool kid that I am. I mentioned that I took out Cannery Row by John Steinbeck because they did not have The Grapes of Wrath.

I am so glad they did not have it, because I loved this book!

It is not particularly long and is just a series of events and stories that happen to the incredibly likeable characters on Cannery Row. The introduction, well, introduces it really well (that’s it’s job, I guess!).

wp-1466192869043.jpeg

When I first read the introduction I did wonder what he was going on about but it did not take long for me to think I totally get what he means.

wp-1466194467471.jpeg

wp-1466192762318.jpeg

The more I think about this book the more I like it. There is probably some symbolism in there that is going over my head, but I really just enjoyed reading it. It felt lovely and warm and it was so nice to read about the characters and see their perspective on things.

wp-1466195763244.jpeg

wp-1466192895729.jpeg

wp-1466192740896.jpeg

Despite some of the characters being people you would assume would be intimidating or immoral, they all have interesting, full stories and they all mean well. It kind of made me feel warm and fuzzy and think about how the best people aren’t always the ones you expect.

wp-1466192782275.jpeg

wp-1466192813544.jpeg

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

